The Day I Had Two Lunches

     So, today was the first day of my junior year and my first day of starting public high school. I’ve been going to private school since the third grade, and my family moved last year. So, this year, my twin sister and I decided to try something different. Little did we know just what we were getting into….

     I rode the bus for the first time. I felt like a warrior going into battle. I was strong and fearless and nothing could stop me from having the best day of my life! We had started out the morning right by praying out loud at the bus stop. Surely, this “big yellow limousine,” as I called it in reference to a “The Suite Life of Zack and Cody” quote, was taking me to my next greatest adventure! I was ready for anything!

     The first two periods went rather well. I started out with guitar, something I’ve been wanting to learn for years. You can imagine how excited I am that our “homework” assignment is to research the guitarist from one of our favorite songs. Naturally, I knew instantly who I was going to pick (Dustin Belt of Heffron Drive, if you wanted to know).

     Then came geometry. Anyone who knows me well enough knows that any kind of mathematics and I are sworn enemies. I do fine in the class, I just don’t particularly enjoy it. The class is supposed to have 45 instructional minutes and 25 study hall minutes. There’s a random bell that rings halfway through. So, geometry went alright, and my sister and I headed to our lunch period.

     As I sat trying to eat my lunch at 11:00 AM, I thought, “This is too early! I’m not hungry. I wish my lunch could be later!” I should have kept my big mouth shut, because I got my wish. After lunch I headed to English class. I got lost along the way and had to retrace, making me what I thought was only a few minutes late. I caught up quickly and paid attention.

     But then the bell rang 15 minutes later. I was so confused… I headed out to the main area, where I ran into the junior class’s counselor, and she helped me understand my wacky schedule. Turns out, that random bell that rang halfway through geometry was the bell signaling for people like me to get to English class! I had missed half of English at the first lunch, and the second half was after the second lunch. Does that make as little sense as it makes to me????

     So after my second lunch (where I finished the lunch I was not hungry enough to eat at 11), I went back to English class and was NOT late this time because I went early and waited outside the right classroom (err, actually I was a few doors too far down).

     The class went on fine, and last period (World Music)  was the most normal part of my day, except for a new favorite quote I have from my teacher. This class is in the band room, which has a huge carpeted area that stains easily. This is a pet peeve of the custodians, due to a long three-year-old Gatorade stain through one side of the room. The teacher told us,” You are not allowed to have any food or drinks in the carpeted area except water, and candy. I like candy. Bring enough to share.”

     The bus ride home was blessedly uneventful.

     So, there you have it- the day I had two lunches. Hopefully it won’t happen again tomorrow, because the B-Day schedule is entirely different (except geometry is in the same period- wish me luck with that halfway bell!).

     Living the events of this day was pretty overwhelming, but looking back, it’s rather funny. I know God goes before me, and He’s writing a story, and it’s going to be beautiful. I’m meeting the real world, one very crazy day at a time. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Stay strong and fearless,

Kristen

 

One thought on “The Day I Had Two Lunches

Leave a Reply

