My New Friend

     “I’ve been a lot of lonely places, I’ve never been on the outside.”

                -“The Outside” by Taylor Swift

    

 

     That quote played in my head today. Being in a new school, you don’t have many friends at first. This realization hit me yesterday. You don’t just walk in and automatically have new best friends the very first few days. It takes time. It’s hard, but it takes time. I think I’m going to check out some clubs when sign-ups start in a few weeks.

     But, I do have one new friend! We rode the bus together and had first period together. His name is Earl. Earl is my guitar 🙂 This was the first day he came to school with me. I got to carry him a block to the bus stop and onto the bus. We only got stuck coming off the bus, stalling everyone else. He’s very heavy. I had to then take him all the way across campus through like three buildings to get to the classroom. In class, we really only learned how to hold the guitar, and the rest was just kind of… awkwardly quiet. But I think it will get better. I’ll learn how to actually play soon, and then I’ll have a real hobby!!

     After guitar was geometry. I finally got the whole A day lunch thing sorted out- I don’t leave halfway through geometry and miss my study hall, but I have English right after. Then halfway through English is lunch. We didn’t do any more gluing today in geometry, but we’re learning how to draw these things called nets. It seems pretty easy to me, considering it’s the kind of thing I tried to draw as a kid so I could make paper boxes ( don’t ask me why, but I found it fascinating).

     English is probably the most… interesting class. When I first met the teacher during open house, I expected he would be like Mr. Feeny from “Boy Meets World,” my all-time favorite ’90’s show. However, he turned out to be more like a young man in an old man’s body. He loves puns. Today he also made blonde jokes and Chuck Norris jokes. He also loves youtube videos (he said today, “I love youtube. It lectures for me so I don’t have to work.). But before we watched the William Bradford videos, he showed the Geico commercial about the camel on “hump day.” He promised we’d see it probably every Wednesday 🙂

      By last period, I was so ready to go home. At the end, when I was getting Earl out of the band room closet, the teacher almost shut the door on me accidentally. After school, I got to lug Earl and my heavy backpack (which has my very thick geometry book in it today) back onto the bus in the rain and then the block home. It was an adventure… I’m currently sitting with my piggy massage pillow behind my back 🙂

      There will be good days, and there will be bad days. But in the end, looking back, I’ll remember the good more. Hopefully I’ll find everything I’m looking for soon enough. For now, one day at a time…

Stay strong and fearless,

Kristen

Leave a Reply

