Through the Looking Glass

In my Spanish class, we do these things called “learning logs” at the end of each class. We take a few minutes to make a short “log” of what we learned in class that day, reflecting on what was the most important. I think that Thanksgiving is kind of like this, where we take a day to reflect on all the things we are thankful for and what’s most important to us.

Over Thanksgiving Break, I did a lot of thinking about what’s really important in life. I also started to think about mirrors. There’s a verse in 1 Corinthians 13 that says, “Now we see a dim reflection, as in a mirror, but then we shall see face to face.” When you look out a window, it’s beautiful. What you see is the real thing, created by God. But when you look in a mirror, all you’re seeing is a dim reflection of the true beauty. And, besides, it’s not what’s in the mirror, but what’s on the inside, that really matters, right?

So this is where I’m headed with this: In our world, we often spend too much time looking in the mirror and not enough enjoying the view outside the window. We do everything we can to try to make what we see in the mirror beautiful, yet it could never compare to real beauty. It’s just a reflection. I’m guilty of spending too much time chasing reflections, trying to find what’s “real,” yet I’ve learned that imitations never satisfy. I decided to stop looking in the mirror, turn around, and look for more windows. I have so much more to be thankful for than I’ve realized.

After my very thought-filled Thanksgiving Break, I’ve returned to the harsh reality of quantum numbers and Barre chords and rhombuses and all the other wonderful things being a high school junior entails. But it’s still something to be thankful for, right?

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got to finish up some geometry and then study for my SAT… It’s still something you’ll be thankful you learned one day, Kristen!

Stay strong and fearless,

Kristen

Leave a Reply

